Sweet Reminders

We know that God is in control. We know that His plan is greater. We know that He has our lives in His hands. Do we still have trouble trusting Him? OH YES!

Anyone else out there that is a planner like myself knows the feeling when you’ve asked someone to complete a task for you and the whole time you are hoping that they are actually working on that task. That they haven’t forgotten. Of course you don’t want to keep reminding them about it and sound super uptight so you just let it go praying that it’ll get done. Then, one day, you get a nice surprise. That person that you had asked to do that one thing comes to you and says, “I just wanted to let you know I haven’t forgotten about_________ and I am working on it.” How nice is that?! They gave you a little reminder letting you know that they haven’t forgotten about you and they are working.

Well, God does the same thing for us. This week He has given me two subtle hints that say, “I haven’t forgotten about you, Stacie. I’m working.” First: The past year I have had a lot of experience in grief & loss in my own life as well in some of my close friends. When I started writing this blog I realized that I had a passion for helping those who are grieving in some way. Not more than a day or so after this epiphany I was talking to a counselor who works at my school sharing with her that I was looking for an internship in Charlotte, NC. She gave me the name of a place that do a lot of grief & loss counseling with cancer patients and their families. I haven’t heard back since it was just yesterday but if that does work out-that would be a total God thing! My hopes aren’t up high but to me that was a nice reminder from God that He is directing my path and in His time it’ll work out. 

Second: This morning in the high school girls Bible study I lead on Sundays we are going through Proverbs and we read chapter 16. In verse 3 it says, “Commit to The Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.” My Bible had a cross reference for the word ‘commit’ to 1 Peter 5:7 which says, “Cast all your cares on Him because He cares for you.” I’m reminded to continue committing my life to Him and casting the worry on Him because He loves and cares for me and has a plan! Just another sweet reminder from my Jesus.

Then something fun 🙂 This weekend I went out to run errands and I couldn’t resist stopping by our local PetsMart to see what puppies they had up for adoption. (My current apartments don’t allow pets but when I move back home I can adopt one). I found these cuties but walked away empty handed. It’s hard to resist the licks and whimpers. Pet therapy is one of the best 🙂

Staying hopeful and trusting God

Leave a Reply

