Choosing Love

Currently stuck inside due to 8″ of snow here in Charlotte, NC. Nothing better to do than write 🙂

One of the things that brings the kid in me out is snow. I grew up in Central Florida so I didn’t see snow until we moved to NC when I was 14. It’s so exciting to me. Granted it’s only fun for a while because it’s cold and wet but for a few minutes I can spin around laughing and trying to catch snow flakes on my tongue and build a snowman. For that moment I am a kid again and choosing to love life instead of complaining.

It’s not very often that I have this feeling. I get caught up in the “real world” of being an adult. There is rent to be paid, credit cards to pay off, papers to write, food to cook and an apartment to keep clean. I’m seeking this care-free feeling again and with this snow I have found it. I don’t want to lose it. I want to apply it to every aspect of my life, including my faith.

I want to choose love over doubt and fear. I want to love God. I want to love the life He’s given to me even if it’s not what I imagined. I want to love those who’ve wronged me. I want to wake up every morning and be thankful for the day that has been given to me. I want to love without holding anything back. I am striving to be that woman that people see as someone who radiates joy-choosing love over and over no matter the circumstances in her life. Will I still struggle? Yes. My flesh will put up a fight because all I want to do is wallow but God is telling me to choose love and know that I am loved by so many people and especially by the One that gave everything to be a part of my life. How can I say no to that? I pray that I can come to Him with big eager eyes and an open heart yearning to learn and laugh in the moments that God has given me.

Leave a Reply

