Going To Battle

The story of Moses and the Israelites wandering in the desert has become one of my favorite stories in the Bible. Mostly because it’s very relatable. There is one part of the story that I had overlooked until recently that relates to my life even more.

In Deuteronomy 1 starting in verse 19 the Lord had given the Israelites land. In this land were bad guys (Amorites) who the Lord was prepared to go before them and fight against. BUT the Israelites talked themselves out of it doubting that the Lord would save them. Then, when they found out that the Lord was angry with them and wouldn’t protect them because they rebelled, they changed their minds and wanted to go fight. So, they went to fight and came back crying to the Lord because they had been defeated. The Lord knew that they weren’t ready to fight so He was going to go before them but they didn’t trust Him. They wanted to do things their way. So, the Lord sent them on a journey of wandering in the desert to teach them trust and that no matter how big the army, when the Lord promises something He will fulfill it and guide them no matter what.

Earlier in Moses’ journey with the Lord and the Israelites in Exodus 33 this conversation takes place, “The Lord replied, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.” Then Moses said to him, If your Presence does not go with us, do not send us up from here.” It’s okay to think that we aren’t strong enough to defeat the army that’s in front of us. We aren’t meant to be strong enough on our own. We are meant to have the God of Angel armies go before us and fight because He is on OUR SIDE. He is guiding us. He is with us in the battle. Whether it be a battle in friendship, family, an earthly disease, or an addiction. “No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:37-39). I guarantee that everyone one around you and me is facing some kind of battle. I know I am but I know that God is with me and for me and the army may look fierce and more prepared that I but that shouldn’t scare me. I rest in the peace that prayer works in more ways than my earthly eyes can see.

“If God is for us, who can be against us?”
Romans 8:31
Leave a Reply

