Too Much Faith?

If you have been reading my blogs you know that the theme in my life at the moment is “trust”. Trusting in the Lord’s plan for my life and not mine. Well lately I’ve been bombarded with thoughts of “do I have too much faith?” “Am I putting too many eggs in the ‘God basket’?” I sat on my bed for a while and truly pondered this question I was asking myself. After a while I thought while laughing to myself, “am I really asking this question?”

Obviously the answer is, no (as long as we’re talking about Biblical faith). I immediately thought to the famous truster, Abraham. Now, Abraham’s story of trust isn’t identical to my situation as I haven’t been asked to sacrifice my son or give birth at old age BUT I have had to make some decisions that are hard and caused me to trust in His plan which is hard. Sometimes I question my decisions wondering if I made the right one. To answer my own question: well if you have sought the Lord and felt like this was where He was leading you than, yes, you have made the right decision. The problem for me comes when I consult counsel from others and their suggestions or opinions are different than what I feel like the Lord is telling me. I’m a people pleaser (unfortunately) so this is hard for me. In life, I can’t make everyone happy. The only person I should be seeking to “please” and follow is God. Now, this doesn’t mean that I shouldn’t prayerfully consider people’s opinions it’s just that ultimately I know I have to follow God’s will. Sometimes I may get it wrong and think it’s God’s will but really it’s not but that’s why I have had to learn filter and listen to the still small voice of the Holy Spirit inside of me.

Against all hope, Abraham in hope believed and so became the father of many nations, just as it had been said to him…without weakening his faith, he faced the fact that his body was as good as dead…and Sarah’s womb was also dead. Yet, he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised.” (Romans 4:18, 19-21). When no one believed that he and Sarah were going to have a child Abraham had faith because God had told him that he was going to have a child. Now, for us, God may not directly send an angel down to tell us what we should do or what’s going to happen but that’s why he gave us the Holy Spirit. In this he also gave glory to God because he remembered, what I need to remember more often, that God doesn’t forget what he’s promised. I’m sure there were times when Abraham and others said, “Um, God…are you sure? People are making fun of me…” Sound familiar? I know it has to me before. All we have to do is go down that road that we know in our hearts that the Lord is calling us down with our heads held high toward heaven. That’s not easy because we want to look down at our feet to make sure we don’t stumble but we forget that God will catch us if we do (and we will). All I can do now is punch doubt in the face because doubt isn’t from God.

I have this index card on my vanity mirror that lists the difference between God’s voice and Satan’s voice:

It’s a great daily reminder =) 

Leave a Reply

