Seek and You Will Find

Jeremiah 29:11 says: “‘For know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'” That verse from the book of Jeremiah is probably up there in popularity along with John 3:16. Everyone knows that verse and clings to it when times are hard. However, most people fail to see verses 12 & 13 and how it applies to verse 11 and to our lives.

Jeremiah 29:12-13 says: “Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” How can we miss this? Verses 12 & 13 tell us how to have the faith that Jeremiah is asking of us in verse 11. In the moment of being scared of our lives we don’t know how to know that the Lord’s plans are good. But, here we see that we gain this faith through praying and listening to the Lord. When we pray and listen we are able to know God and know that He is our protector and provider.

I have felt like I have heard the Lord speak these words to me, personally, the past few days. It has been through uplifting friends and family supporting me in my decisions. Having them affirm that I am seeking the Lord’s will and not my own means the world to me. It’s living proof of the distance I have come the past few months. Then, watching the Lord slowly give me back what I did lose because He sees that I trust Him and am seeking Him first and not earthly things. These things of the world aren’t bad but if they sneak up to the number one spot in our lives, they are deadly. I am learning to accept those things back with the caution of continuously checking my heart’s motives. This is how we are to live: “Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: And see if there be any wicked way in me” (Psalm 139:23–24). If we don’t ask the Lord to search the depths of our heart how are we to know if we are making the right decisions and on the right path? We may think we know the depths of our hearts but do we really? If we try and search ourselves our flesh will get in the way and the outcome will be skewed. If we let Him, God can be brutally honest. I can’t expect people to be perfect and never hurt me but I can expect God to never hurt me. 
Oh Lord, search my heart and help me to trust You instead of wanting everything in my life to always be perfect. As long as I trust in You I will have confidence that You are in everything and clearly guiding me. 
Leave a Reply

