New Things

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland”
Isaiah 43:18-19

It’s almost spring time here-well you wouldn’t be able to tell because it’s cold and rainy today but technically it’s supposed to be here soon 🙂 I love spring time because all the flowers bloom and everything is green again. I can shed the layers and enjoy the sun. It’s like a fresh start after a cold winter.

When we are in the midst of hard times in our lives we are to cling to the fact that the Lord won’t leave us there. He didn’t bring us to the fire to leave us there and get burned. He didn’t bring us to the deep waters to let us drown. He is and will move us THROUGH. However, there is a wall that I seem to be hitting in my own life as I am being brought through my deep waters and fire.

Letting go and forgetting of the things of the past that brought me to the deep waters and fire in the first place seems to be hard for me to do. A part of me doesn’t want to leave this hard place I am in and accept the new things that the Lord is bringing me. I mean, I lost good things in my life and I’m afraid to lose them again. My life has been a blur the past year and I just don’t think that I have caught up with God and what He is doing. I see it but I just can’t believe that just under a year ago I was grieving due to a family situation. Just a few months ago I was grieving losing the vision of the future I had build up for myself (it was my vision and not God’s so that did need to go but it’s still hard).
The catch is that things will go wrong throughout my life because I am a part of a sinful world and I am a sinner. I will fail and the people around me will fail me BUT GOD won’t (don’t you love that phrase…”but God”). I need to jump into God and not a person or situation. Why is it so hard for me to see that God is doing new things? They are right in front of me and I see them but I don’t understand them? I don’t understand the ways of God and how He brings me through my wilderness and wastelands. But I’m not supposed to. If I understood why God did all the things that He does I wouldn’t trust Him. I wouldn’t be willing to close my eyes and jump into the things that I know are good and being given to me by God. This will be a struggle all my life-giving my life to God over and over.
I think of the popular song by Gungor called Beautiful Things that sings, “All around, hope is springing up from this old ground. Out of chaos life is being found in You. You make beautiful things, You make beautiful things out of the dust. You make beautiful things, You make beautiful things out of us.”

19 
Leave a Reply

