Power in Prayer

Prayer can become mundane. We can get stuck and bored with our prayers. I think this is because our focus is off. We are praying because we think that if we pray more God might change His mind. That He might see that what we are asking for is the best thing for us. But that’s the wrong way to approach it.

If we go into prayer to try to change God’s mind we will ALWAYS come away disappointed. But when we go humble ourselves because we are lost, angry, hurt, confused, etc. and need someone to air our thoughts to-we will find that our hearts will change.

I’m an internal processor. There’s nothing wrong with that but I can let my thoughts control me. I can get to a point where I drive myself crazy with the thoughts swirling around my head. When that happens I pray or I write out a prayer in my journal. Whenever I am in a rut, feeling confused, overwhelmed, angry, stressed or even happy I take a few minutes to close my eyes and pray. I don’t even talk to anyone about it until I’ve gone before the Lord because most of the time, that solves the problem. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been overwhelmed with my feelings and thoughts and prayed and immediately felt the peace of God come over me. Who else is there for me 24/7? There is power in talking out your thoughts and who better to do it with than with someone who will listen. Who will love. Who will comfort. And who will lead us in the way that is everlasting.

I find it very beneficial to think back on my life and see how God orchestrated my life. I remember prayers that I prayed and think to myself, “Why was I praying that? That was so selfish and if God would have answered that prayer, I would be in a different place”. I started to thank God for unanswered prayers. But then, when I look back and see how the Lord has answered my prayers I can see my growth because that means my heart’s desire was/is God’s will and that is a sweet moment.

“I pray because I can’t help myself. I pray because I’m helpless. I pray because the need flows out of me all the time- waking and sleeping. It doesn’t change God- it changes me.” C.S. Lewis

Leave a Reply

