Waiting On Good Things

I know it’s not Christmas time but I’m about to use a Christmas analogy so bare with me:

We put up our Christmas Tree the weekend after Thanksgiving. After the tree goes up, gradually the present start being placed underneath it. Those are all presents that aren’t to be opened until Christmas morning. You see the perfectly wrapped gifts everyday wondering what they are knowing that they are great! Well, sometimes our lives can be like that…except we sometimes know what the gifts are.

I have this wonderful roommate. Just trust me when I say she’s the best!! She has a lot of her close friends getting married over the next 9 months in which she is in the wedding party. She has the opportunity for a leadership position next school year. She’s doing some exciting traveling. And even though she is very excited for what lies ahead she finds herself having to wait for each of those events to arrive. And that got me thinking: how do we wait on the good things that we know are in front of us? How do I sit still awaiting moving back home to Charlotte, NC in May to transition into a new phase? An internship? Relationships? Graduation? So much good is in the seeable future close enough to touch but I’m just not there yet. Growing where I’m planted has always been hard for me. I get so excited about what the Lord is doing in the future that I overlook what He is doing in my life TODAY.

Behold, I am coming soon, bringing my recompense with me, to repay everyone for what he has done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end.

Revelation 22:12-13

This is the ultimate promise given to us from God. However, this promise was given over 1900 years ago. Many many people have come and gone from this earth and no one is sure when this promised and glorious day will come. This is a wonderful promise that is in the near future but we are having to wait on earth with our daily suffering and pain until then. I think that as we wait for our individual daily promises we are to wait for them the way that we are told to wait for the Lord: with hope (Psalm 130:5-6); eagerly (Romans 8:19, 23, 25); resting & trusting (Psalm 37:7-9); and seeking the Lord (Lamentations 3:25). That’s a lot to ask of us when there are so many good things in front of us and we are such a ‘have it now’ society. We must remember that God grows things and is not in a hurry. Those good things will come and He will return.

 

origin_2792689962 “Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD.” Psalm 27:14

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/queenneveen/2792689962/”>QueenNeveen</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

