Independently Dependent

I have officially been living back in NC for 2 weeks. I have to say, it hasn’t been quite what I expected. Don’t get me wrong, it’s great and I am happy to be back home living for free while I get my feet on the ground. But, the Lord hasn’t stopped taking this advantage to teach me a lesson.  Even more-so than in the first of the year is He stripping me of comforts forcing me to rely on Him. It’s obviously something that I need to learn or else He wouldn’t be trying (I’m stubborn).

It’s hard to be fully dependent on God when I like being independent. Any of my previous roommates would tell you that I am very independent and am often called the “mom” of the group 🙂 Even when it comes to my faith I like control. It’s the “I can do it myself and I can do it better” syndrome. But, that’s not how this Christian relationship with God works. Shoot, it’s not even how any relationship works.

All God asks of me (us) is my (our) lives. “Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it. What good will it be for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul?” (Matthew 16:24-26) This command initially sounds easy. I mean, when we first become Christians it’s all new and exciting because we have a new life in Christ but as we grow we realize how hard it is to say no to temptations that flood our lives every single day!! 

“But whatever were gains to me I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ, and be found in him…”

Philippians 3:7-9a

I believe that this verse that Paul writes to the Philippians is exactly where I’m heading.  I HAVE LOST ALL THINGS (my daily comforts) to GAIN CHRIST. The question that I need to ask myself, and I challenge whoever reads this, to ask what in my life do I consider worldly comforts that are taking away from the comfort I need to find in Christ? These worldly comforts aren’t necessarily bad, like a job and friends, but how much emphasis am I putting on them? Am I constantly bitter because things aren’t right at this moment? Finding myself in this state causes me to want the Lord to return quicker so that I can be rid of the filth that crowds my life. How far am I willing to go to make my life more like Christ and prepare for that glorious day?

 DSCN1690_Fotor

 

Leave a Reply

