Here In Your Presence

I’m sitting here and I am pondering this thought:

Do I feel God’s presence when life is going good? I mean truly feel.

Or do I just expect to feel it when life is hard?

God is ALWAYS present but somehow it’s when I’m hurting that He feels distant and I feel like I have to seek Him out. But, my thought is that if I’m truly seeking and learning what His presence feels like when life is easy, wouldn’t it be easier to feel and recognize His presence when life gets hard.

We all know the situation, our lives are going just as we liked them to so we never feel the need to pray or spend time with God because there isn’t anything we need from Him. This goes until we hit a bump in the road and our “perfect” life gets thrown off course. We ask God why He wasn’t there to prevent this from happening or why He didn’t warn us. The thing is, He was there, we just weren’t in tune with Him. I experienced this when I was in a relationship last year and aside from a lot of things we did wrong, I knew a few months in that it wasn’t going to work from the small voice in my heart and close friends but I dismissed them. I was selfish and looking for love in a guy instead of God. I thought I knew better. God tried and warn me but I didn’t listen.

How many other times have I not listened? Too many…but He has taught me many things. 

I forget that having a walk with the Lord is just that…a walk…a journey…a continuing relationship that needs nourishing to grow in good and bad times. If I fail at this, the walk that the Lord and I were on will stop or I will wander in my own direction thinking that I know where I’m going but actually I left my leader behind.

DSCN2368_Fotor

I’m challenging myself to get to know God now when life is easy so that when the storm comes, and it will, my roots will be deep enough so that I won’t falter (Jeremiah 17:7-8). Of course it will be rough but may those times be a little less painful because I know verses to go to for comfort, a hymn to sing, or I remember that I have that close friend I have made who I can talk to. I am armed with the armor of God (Ephesians 6:10-18) and I am always aware of the blessings God is sending my way everyday, I just have to look and be still (Exodus 14:14). I want to sit with Him and just let Him embrace me with His love and joy. I want to enjoy His creation more. I want to look at a flower and not just think that it’s beautiful but that it’s beautiful because God created it. Noticing these little things in my everyday life will help me notice them when my everyday life becomes not so everyday.

“We often miss him. We don’t know our Helper when he is near. But he comes. Through the kindness of a stranger. The majesty of a sunset. The mystery of romance. Through the question of a child or commitment of a spouse. Through a word well spoken or a touch well timed…”

Max Lucado in Safe In The Shepherd’s Arms.

 

Leave a Reply

