The Best Medicine

One of my favorite things to do that I don’t do enough is laugh. And not just a giggle but smiling so hard your cheeks hurt and laughing so hard no sound comes out. Do you know what I mean? Isn’t a great feeling? I’ve heard people say that laughter is a universal language. I’d have to say that I agree with that statement. It helps us relax, feel comfortable and accepted.

“A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.”

Proverbs17:22

I wouldn’t say that I’ve had a bad summer but it’s definitely been a summer for the books. I’ve gone through a lot of transition and readjusting my life. I have had to find myself in a new place. Find a church family. Find friends. This can be exhausting and disappointing when you expect things to happen faster than they are. One of those things that I have missed the most about where I moved from is the community. I have missed having people around that pushed me to grow closer to God. People that I could laugh with. People that I could cry with. That, has been my number one prayer after moving back to NC.

DSCN1556_Fotor

Well, I have recently started going to a new church and so that requires getting to know people. I put myself out there and I attended a small group. I was nervous to go so I invited one of my friends to be “the new person” with me. I can’t tell you enough how much I needed that night and every night after that. These people have become my family and those who I know I can confide in. I left such a wonderful community in South Carolina and a church that truly took me in so you can imagine my anxiety when I moved back and wanted to find the same thing. Funny thing is, this isn’t the same thing, it’s different but a good kind of different. God knew that I needed my church family in South Carolina at that time in my life and then He knew what I needed for this time in my life and what I needed now was laugher. I have been still healing from a broken relationship and I needed support but most importantly I needed to have fun again. I needed to be reminded of how many great things that the Lord is doing in my life and what better way to do that than with friends and laughter.

Leave a Reply

